Home > Uncategorized > Thoughts From The Office and the Campaign Trail

Thoughts From The Office and the Campaign Trail

Ok, so I am talking about another office.

Last night I finished watching the series, “The Office.”

The reason I mention this is because 1) I am sad that I have to say goodbye (yet again) to Jim and Pam and 2) it reminded me once again of how simple, and yet happy–life can actually be…outside of politics.

With 41 days left in this primary, I have been reflecting a lot on this entire process. Not img_6338just as a candidate, but as a woman of color who is trying to balance ego-mania and imposter syndrome, all at the same time.

Late at night, after a long day of work and RubioNM35, my favorite thing to come home to is another episode of this funny sitcom–coming at us from Scranton, PA. (Which by the way, today is the Pennsylvania primary)

I can’t lie. I sometimes ask myself, “couldn’t you just have worked in an office supply profession?”

Life would be so. much. easier.

When I first decided to run back in November, it was a tough decision and one that I did not take lightly. As an alumni of Emerge New Mexico, I have learned and toted that insane statistic of, “women must be asked seven times to run for office.” For yours truly, it took about 30,000,000 times.

And I finally said yes–on the condition that I would run on my own terms. As an organizer, there was no way that I would compromise my values just to win an election and I have remained solid in that promise.

Here is the thing. I am the candidate to beat in this primary. So it is no surprise that rumors are swirling about what sort of attacks will come my way during the end of this primary election season. And c’mon? I shouldn’t be surprised, right? It happened to my good friend and candidate during the non-partisan Las Cruces Municipal races back in November–when hundreds of thousands of dollars of out-of-state money, trickled in, trying to defeat her and other progressive candidates in these races.

img_6299-2Let’s be real. I certainly expect it to happen in an election cycle like this one–where Republican’s have no viable presidential candidate and have no other option but to invest in state and local races. They will also try to do it in a primary, particularly supporting candidates that are less progressive than I am. Yes. Even in a democratic race. They obviously have the money for it.

Being politically involved in my community for most of my life, I understand that this is a game to a lot of people. Furthermore, this game is insanely expensive and in under 41 days, you will begin to see what that amount of money looks like and what it will buy. It will be disgusting.

You will also see what they will do to me–and many other good people like me, just as they have done to those that have come before me. As sad and upsetting that might be, I will be ok. I have family, friends and supporters who know what I stand for and are committed. Win or lose. We will all survive this–and so will every other woman who ever decides to take on this very hard and yet important role. We need you.

Then….together, we’ll change the shit out of politics for the long run. And for good.

So yeah, this work is not easy. It is nothing like another funny episode of The Office that you can just watch for 20 minutes and turn off until the next evening. But this phase in my life is certainly an episode–and sometimes a very funny one, with chapters just waiting to be written. But I will be the one to write them.

Until then, the campaign continues and the stories of folks in the community must be heard and acted on.

(I also promise not to take so long to write next time.)

But for now…

Below are some pictures of some very important events with family and friends in both my personal and campaign life from the last few weeks. These people mean so much to me and are the rock that I need for this very challenging and yet exciting process.

Follow me and all the things here on my blog at The Rubio Dispatch or on Twitter at @anrubio or on Instagram at @anhellykah 

  1. April 26, 2016 at 8:58 PM

    I would like a yard sign! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

