Home > Uncategorized > So Tired, I Couldn’t Even Take The Trash Out. 

So Tired, I Couldn’t Even Take The Trash Out. 

 


Organizing

This morning I spent it at the university, as I was invited to speak to a social work class lead by my good friend and Las Cruces City Councilor, Kasandra Gandara. She has been spending time talking about dominate narratives that perpetuate status quo’s that negatively impact our communities, and asked me to not only discuss my experience as an organizer, but to also share how we can dismantle said narratives by sharing our stories.

I shared some of my story, and mostly about my relationship with Kasandra–someone who once was just a name on list of people I should speak to, eventually became a member of the NM CAFé Executive Committee for the Raise the Wage Campaign, to a Las Cruces City Councilor, and of course–one of my closest friend’s.

It’s imperative that students, particularly those working in social work, understand the difference between transactional and transformational relationships–especially when we’re talking about greater institutional and systemic change. My relationship with Kasandra–I believe, clearly demonstrates on how our transformational relationship is working to make change together and with many in our community.

The students in the class were attentive, asked great questions, and once again reassured me that while the future is in fact–in our hands, the future is in good hands.


The Doors

Fortunately for me, the wind died down a little by 5p, giving me a chance to hit a good 40 doors. I am so glad that I did.

I first spoke to Theresa, who was getting her roof fixed–after the damage her home received back in early fall. Not only was she super nice, but she is planning to vote on June 7, and she’s pretty certain she’s voting for me.

Tim was someone else who I spoke with, and was super nice. Although I was looking for someone else in the home, he was happy to speak with me for a few minutes. I learned that he is not a registered voter, and has not voted since he was living in California years ago. Now fifty years old, he doesn’t think it’s worth it–especially during this presidential year where he is neither happy with Clinton or Trump. The voter registration forms I carry with me was not enough to convince him to register today, but he did say he wouldn’t mind me checking in with him in the coming weeks.

Tim, I’ll be calling you.

Down the street was Yvette’s home and it was her dog who I met first. Although her pup weighed, maybe 10lbs–it sure did compete well in scaring me like no other dog on the street. It would even give my 90lb baby, Lennon, a run for his money. When I first saw Yvette, my implicit bias right away told me that she would not be interested in talking to me. Her body covered in tattoos and piercings, and some tough talk from the the hallway to the door, convinced me for a few seconds that she would not be voting in the primary.

I was wrong. 

We spoke at the door for a few minutes, before Yvette came outside and shared that she knew there was a primary coming up but didn’t think there was any reason for her to vote. I explained my candidacy for House 35 and the more I shared and the more I listened to her story, she came around and to the conclusion that I was worth her time to walk into Branigan Library and vote for me on June 7.

Then her dog shooshed me away. So there’s that.

One of the last homes visited, had a Bernie Sanders bumper sticker on their car. Although their name was not on my walk list, I decided to knock anyway.

At the door, I was welcomed by Carrie and her young daughter, both not knowing what I wanted but polite enough to answer and to humor me for just showing up. We didn’t chat for long, but I left behind literature and I am certain that Carrie will be a voter on June 7.

She liked my Facebook page late last night. Progress!


Today turned out to be a day filled with so much and while I was exhausted by the time I headed out to the doors, it was so worth it in the end. I am always grateful to have this opportunity to talk to people.

Lastly, I would like to thank my right-hand, Connie Chapman, who not only keeps me grounded and this campaign in check, she even took time away from her afternoon to drive me around, just so I wouldn’t be as wind blown. I am so lucky.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

