Home > Uncategorized > I’m Not Saying That I’m Anything Like President Abraham Lincoln…

I’m Not Saying That I’m Anything Like President Abraham Lincoln…

But I’m currently reading, “Lincoln:  Team of Rivals,” and the more I read, the more I feel a deep connection to President Lincoln.  There are a lot of things he and I have in common.  For one, we’re both very emo.  

The author discusses President Lincoln and reports on his friends/family who made references to the President suffering between a cross of depression and melancholy.  

The passage that hits me the most is this one:   

“Periodically, when the distance between his lofty ambition and the reality of his circumstances seemed unbridgeable, he was engulfed by tremendous sadness.”  

I can testify to this passage and how powerful it is.  There are days in which I feel like I’m still waiting for my life to begin.  Waiting for that one thing that is going to catapult me to the place I am destined to be.  But what am I waiting for?  Why do I stress over whether or not I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing at this exact moment?  Why do I dwell on if I do this and not that, will it lead me elsewhere?  

I’m a true believer in “you make things happen.” But I’m also a true believer of having no regrets.  But like Lincoln, I am engulfed with tremendous sadness when the distance between my own lofty ambition and the reality of my circumstances, seem unbridgeable.

Goal for 2013 is to use my reality and circumstances to reach my lofty ambitions.  

It’s that simple.

Or is it?  

Ok…no questioning it.  Just do it.  


    

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. February 11, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    I haven’t read the book yet, but your words hit home. I have suffered “melancholia” for my entire adult life, and that unbridgeable gap can be too wide sometimes. Ambition is what eventually gets you there though. Thank you for sharing.

    • February 11, 2013 at 9:51 AM

      Thank you for commenting! I couldn’t help but write about it so I’m glad I could share it with others who struggle with this same challenge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

