Home > Uncategorized > 40 Days Left Until Election Day…And You Still Don’t Know Who You’re Voting For?

40 Days Left Until Election Day…And You Still Don’t Know Who You’re Voting For?

Last Monday I drove to Missouri to visit my sister.  But before I could arrive to my final destination, I of course had to face a few interesting encounters along the way.  First off.  Amarillo, Texas.  I arrived around 8a, where I stopped to fill up Herbie’s tank with gas.  Here, I was introduced to an older gentleman filling up his own tank, who immediately began to complain about the high gas prices.  Instead of discussing the issue in a manner that was both fair and realistic to the issue itself, he continued to go on a rant about how we should bomb the hell out of Iran to meet his desires for low gas prices.  Unfortunately for him, I wasn’t going to stay silent.  Instead, I rolled my eyes and I railed on him for about two minutes, explaining to him that by creating a crisis of “bombing the crap out of Iran,” would only increase gas prices even more and where would he be then.  Why don’t people get it?

Perhaps my political explosion in Amarillo lead to some bad karma because right before arriving into Oklahoma City, I ran into a bit of a “problem.”  Around mile marker 99, heading east on I-40, I had what some people might call, a bit of a flat tire.  Fortunately for Herbie, a few minutes prior to this flat tire, I happened to notice a sign outside of Oklahoma City which read, “dial *55 for Highway Patrol.”  So, as someone not knowing anything about changing my tire, I decided the Highway Patrol was necessary and needed to save the day.  Well, fortunately for me, I only lost 15 minutes because a nice Oklahoman stopped and helped me out and changed my tire within minutes, not having to really need the patrolman.  But as he arrived, he did what I guess any other patrolman would do…put on some white gloves.

Seriously?  He looked down on me and my Obama bumper stickers with some trepidation. Which is why I convinced myself he was not going to help us out and he didn’t.  He just stood and stared and said not one word to me. Whatever, the Oklahoman gent was great so he redeemed my faith in the people of this great state.  As I coasted through the state in my fixed tire and Bruno Mars blaring from my speakers at my mom’s expense (she came along), it was between Tulsa, Oklahoma and Joplin, Missouri that a guy in an older black Honda Accord passed me full-speed, honking his horn and flipping  me off.  I was driving a a cruise controlled 70mph, VW Beetle,  so my only  reasoning behind it was yes…the Obama bumper sticker with the words “Latino’s for” before Obama.  Oh well.  I still believe in Oklahoma hospitality.

So there is a reason for this narrative and that is, how well will President Obama do in these states?  I mean, Oklahoma isn’t racing to be a blue state, that’s for sure.  But my question is, what will ever get them to become purplish?  I don’t know.

I’m also still wondering why people are undecided.  We’re less than 40 days from election day and people still don’t know who they’re going to vote for?  You either support the President and want to see him re-elected (and succeed) or you’re ready to go on with the next guy.  You’d think the last few weeks of funny and deplorable comments from the Romney campaign would help in making that decision, but apparently that’s not the case.

The conventions held last month were pretty interesting.  Up until then, things were just politics as usual.  However, despite the apparent differences in reception from both sides, I think we have all come to the conclusion (at least I think we have) that the Democratic party is not facing an enthusiasm gap at all, like I once feared.  Perhaps it has something to do with the opponents Dems are facing rather than the progressive candidates themselves.  Nonetheless, the last few weeks have been interesante because during the ongoing post-convention punditry, it’s apparent that President Obama has held on to a significant bounce, which has sustained this far in the game.

Unfortunately, this optimism coming from the President’s camp and progressive campaigns across the country have really worried me a lot in recent weeks.  Yes, President Obama is ahead in the polls and Democrats are gaining speed against their various opponents in Congressional races across the country.  But really?  Declaring a win, less than forty days before the election, is incredibly stupid.

Polls are great because they can be very telling.  They have the ability give us a general idea of where we are.  The problem, however, is that it can also lead voters to become very complacent.  I’m sorry, but American’s don’t get as excited about voting the way they do when refs screw up a call during a Sunday night football game.  I’m sorry, but that’s just reality.

(Which is why I have such an issue with the electoral college during election night when pundits declare California blue when the polls haven’t even closed yet…but that’s another blog post)

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves.  Voter registration deadlines will end in less than two weeks and get out the vote efforts are so important because we need to keep those people we’ve registered, engaged enough to go straight to the polls.

It’s not over.

Presidential debates begin next week and these will be a major events for those independents not yet sure whom they’ll be voting for to evaluate the candidates and see who will be their choice come November 6.  Will President Obama be as successful in the past?  Will Mitt Romney continue to bury himself?  We shall see Wednesday, October 3 when the first debate takes place at the University of Denver.

As I drove up to Colorado yesterday, a guy in a silver Toyota passed me, honking his horn and giving me the thumbs down…I’m assuming it was my Obama stickers (again).  I was sad about it for a seconds until I realized.  I guess it’s better than being given the bird.  That’s progress.

  1. Robert C
    September 28, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    enjoy reading the story of your trip, glad you could be with your mother. You give them hell right back if they mess with you. Good Luck in Denver

    • September 28, 2012 at 12:35 PM

      Yay!! I’m glad. So far so good. It’s just day 1 for me, so hopefully I’ll get into the swing of things in the next few days. I’ve got to! There are only less than 40 days!!! 🙂 Miss you guys!

  2. Robert C
    September 28, 2012 at 12:36 PM

    THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

