Home > Uncategorized > Netroots Nation Day 2 – My Journey To Meet (Stalk) Elizabeth Warren.

Netroots Nation Day 2 – My Journey To Meet (Stalk) Elizabeth Warren.

Friends! My apologies for the delay on this post.  I was planning to live blog Netroots Nation as the days progressed, but it was jam packed.  JAM PACKED I TELL YA!

So Friday started off a bit…well, slow. Not sure if it was the time change or what, but I just was not feeling myself.  In any event, I did my best on Friday morning to get up and get moving, making my way to see my 2nd favorite politico in the world, Mrs. Elizabeth Warren.

I’ll get to her in a few.

Washington State Congressional Candidate Marcy Burner

The amazing thing about keynotes is that we’re not only rewarded by the “keynote” themselves, but we’re also introduced to, or at least I was, to other very important people, in this case…strong, smart and vocal women in the current political movement.  For a woman in love with politics, I was thrilled about this luncheon and what better way to get things started then with the discussion on “2012 and the War on (and for) Women!”

Washington congressional candidate, Darcy Burner, was a great and a refreshing surprise! I can’t tell you how incredibly powerful her speech was during this luncheon.  I’m not going to lie, at first I was kind of turned off by the Power Point presentation, but if you sit through the entire speech, you begin realize that it’s more than just a presentation…it’s a powerful message, one that both inspires yet cautions us on the future of this country.

This year, women have been under attack…you cannot dispute this.  Darcy exemplified a voice the GOP have attempted to suppress these last few months, but they have failed.  Like Darcy, women are not going to sit out this election year and where you’ll find them is at the voting booth.  Women will remember and we will vote.

Marcy’s speech was the most impressionable out of all of the speeches this weekend, at least for me anyway.  I was just so excited to be in the presence of such great women, including Hawaii’s Mazie Hirono.

Now, when the luncheon ended, I was pretty disappointed that I didn’t get a chance to talk or even shake the hand of kick-ass, Elizabeth Warren.  Act Blue was planning to have an event later that afternoon and she was expected to be there, so I figured I’d wait it out.   So I waited…and waited…and waited…

As I show up to Act Blue, I got the opportunity to meet Mary Ellen Broderick, candidate for New Mexico State legislature.  She’s incredible, folks! Please check her out and donate a few dollars to her campaign.  Most importantly, had I not met Mary Ellen that very moment, I wouldn’t have learned what a douche a certain someone was.  I actually got to witness, from afar, former Florida congressman Alan Grayson tell Ms. Broderick that in regards to her campaign here in New Mexico, “he has no money” to support her election efforts.  Wow! I mean, for a congressman, who just a few years ago was a nobody, you’d think he’d have the best interest to elevate someone at the local level, committed to a progressive calling.  Instead, he said…”uh, no and next!” I was never a big fan of Mr. Grayson and on this very evening, he did not gain an enthusiastic follower.  Go Mary Ellen!

Ohio Senator Sherrod Brown

So…still.  No Elizabeth Warren.  Although I had to stand through a miserable Alan Grayson speech, he was definitely topped by United States Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio, an avid guest on the Rachel Maddow Show and someone making every effort to support our the working class in this country.

But again…no Elizabeth Warren.

My friend Hilda, from San Jose, texted me around this time and reminded me about Google’s party downstairs.  Oh, right! Google.  What could they possibly have that Act Blue didn’t have?

Free beer.

So there I went, chasing after Google and the free beer.  Listen, it seemed wrong to leave but you’ll understand in a bit.

As I arrived to the Google party, I’m overwhelmed by all the incredibly cute and adorable Google boys on site.  I’m sorry, I don’t have access to cute nerds in rural New Mexico, so I apologize for my enthusiasm. Actually, no.  I will not apologize.

Anyway, I discover that Google has launched Google Politics & Elections! It’s so awesome and such a useful

My Google Cup Runneth Over

tool!  There were two touch screens set up  and on display and we were allowed to play around with the tool.  I had the ability to search elections being held around the world and of course, politics here at home.  I tried to be funny by searching President Obama and “birth certificate.”  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one because there were millions of others doing the same.

After collecting my third Google cup of beer, one blue, one red and one yellow (Google color coordination you see) my friend and I decided to try to check out the local restaurants and finally sit down and eat a real meal in Providence.  As her and I were heading up to our room to freshen up, we noticed that there were a lot of people moving into a nearby conference room and we decided to follow them.  As we entered the room, we noticed many Netroots Nation goer’s and realized that it was a party being hosted by Emily’s List.  I LOVE Emily’s List!! So we decided to stay.

First person I run into is Ruth Leitman, the documentary filmmaker, who filmed, Tony and Janina’s American Wedding, a film depicting a family and their struggles to maneuver through our broken immigration system.

As Ruth and I chat about her work near the doorway, I catch a figure from my left and OH MY GOD IT’S

Massachusetts Senate Candidate Elizabeth Warren

ELIZABETH WARREN!!! My excitement was no surprise to her because you could see it in her facial expression.  I must have looked hilarious.  Not only was I holding a Google cup(s) of beer, I also had Google sunglasses on my head, looking like I just stepped out of a spring break commercial.  Lucky for me, though…Elizabeth Warren kicks ass and she didn’t care how ridiculous I was and instead thanked me for my work as consumer protection advocate.  Unless it was the only thing she could say to shut me up.

I can’t say that this was the height of my young political career, but it came pretty close.  Elizabeth Warren is someone I have followed and respected since 2009 and her ability to stand up against the banks and against Secretary of Treasury, Timothy Geitner, who was on the verge of tears due to her questioning TARP money in 2009.  I was disappointed last year when she did not become the head of the Consumer Financial Protection Agency, but I’m extremely confident she will be responsible for the defeat of Senator Scott Brown of Massachusetts come November and reclaim Senator Ted Kennedy’s seat for Democrats, where it belongs.

Co-Creator of The Daily Show and author of Lizz Free or Die

After my meeting with Elizabeth, Ruth, Hilda and I left the party and headed out to meet Lizz Windstead, co-creator of the Daily Show and now author of her new book, “Lizz Free or Die.”  She was fabulous…I mean FABULOUS!! Although Alan Grayson showed up late into the night and occupied his arse on a bench next to the infamous Lizz Winstead, it was a great ending to an incredibly awesome day.

Day 3 later.

  1. June 14, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    Wow – what a day! I had no idea when we were at the Dorrance. Thanks for sharing. Great story.

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:38 PM

      No problem! Glad I could remember all the details 🙂

  2. Dolores
    June 25, 2012 at 9:10 AM

    So now that you’ve met Elizabeth Warren, what’s going to replace that item on your bucket list? 🙂

    Sooo glad you got to attend Netroots Nation, amiga!

  1. June 24, 2012 at 4:15 PM

Leave a Reply

