Home > Uncategorized > Damn, It Feels Good to Be A Gangsta…I Mean Democrat.

Damn, It Feels Good to Be A Gangsta…I Mean Democrat.

How I missed my invite a couple weeks ago, I have no idea? But thanks to reminder emails today, (although, not as many reminder emails as those sent by President Clinton today…sheesh) I got the reminder from the Chaves County Democratic Party, letting me know that tonight Senator Tom Udall would be in town for a reception at the Roswell Museum and Art Center (which is very nice by the way).

In Chaves County, it’s a pretty big deal. First we get President Obama a couple

months ago, in Maljamar no less, and now Senator Udall? (Political Christmas!!!)

“Nothing below I-40” jokes aside…I’m grateful that Senator Udall made it down here to Roswell. Local Democrats were ecstatic to see and visit with the next senior Senator of New Mexico. While there are not that many of us “out” Democrats in the region, I’m sure our numbers were somewhat impressive. I mean, c’mon…25 or so Democrats in one room here in Roswell? That’s a pretty (Joe Biden term) deal!

Most of the discussion held today was a very important one. The majority of questions provided to Senator Udall pertained to Veteran’s and the issues that exist in terms of homelessness and lack of services, primarily insufficient local Veteran’s hospitals for veterans living in our rural communities. Like any other public servant, the Senator did his best to answer these questions and provide some answers to his constituents, but that’s all he could do today. There is still a lot of work to be done.

State Senator Timothy Jennings was also in attendance and although he jokingly attempted to discuss the Keystone pipeline, he did make a passionate statement in support of protecting jobs for Native Americans up north. As a person in support of energy alternatives, I can’t say I agree with energy dependency on coal, but it is the business for which many Native American’s are employed by. State Senator felt compelled to urge Senator Udall to protect those businesses.

Interesting… (To be continued).

All in all, the reception went well and despite the sweltering heat in my thick, black cardigan…I managed to get through it all.

Senator Tom Udall and Future NM Senator and Pulitzer Prize winner

I’m no expert in New Mexico politics. I’m still learning quite a bit since returning to my home state. But let’s be clear…it’s no surprise that the rest of the state looks down on the southern regions of the state as if we’re Neanderthals and uncivilized. But seriously, we’re not all conservatives (yes, I think that conservatives are neanderthals and uncivilized)

There are some really good Democrats down in southeastern New Mexico who are looking to work hard for our Democratic leaders now and in the the future. They just need to be taken seriously.

Today, Democrats in Chaves County were very popular.

Let’s just hope that after November 6, they’re still relevant.

  1. May 30, 2012 at 10:22 PM

    Wow! Wonk Christmas is right! How cool for you – awesome account, GF! Loved your story…almost like being there. 🙂

  2. May 30, 2012 at 10:28 PM

    Thank you, friend! It was a great evening. Hope all is well for you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

