Home > Uncategorized > So There Goes My Original Post…

So There Goes My Original Post…

I already knew exactly what my post was going to be about tonight, but some important news interfered with it.  I’d like to stick with the news that Osama Bin Laden was captured and killed, but it is not normal to celebrate the death of someone. But tonight I feel like I had to, we all do.  I mean, when we watch film and the villain loses or dies…we generally have a feeling of “yes!”  That’s what I felt tonight and from my “Progressives Who Kick Ass,” tweet stream and Facebook, I wasn’t the only one.

But there were the few, who of course, had to put in their two cents and rain on everyone’s parade.  Whether it was the Jane Hamsher’s of the world, “declaring that Osama would be buried in Guantanamo,” or others declaring that “this capture would just lead to greater wars and our troops would never come back,” made me just say, “eff you, guys!” Seriously, people? I understand that millions of people from all over the world struggle through terrorist attacks all the time and what we endured on that morning on 9/11/2001, was nothing compared to other places in the history of this planet, but it did happen to us and it was painful.

I was in my final semester of college and I felt an utter sense of horror when this event took place.  I was lucky enough to not know anyone who was close to me perish on this very day, but I was scared.  I felt alone and I did not think that things would ever be the same.  I was right.  Life would never be the same. Our post-9/11 era officially began and we were eluded to believe in this new war on terror, no longer having a clear enemy.  It could be anyone.  But we knew who this man was and he was responsible.  For the last ten years, things have been different and for years, we have be forced to believe that Bin Laden would never be caught and up until tonight, the idea of his capture seemed almost impossible.

Tonight that changed.  On May 1st, on a day we celebrate workers and immigrant rights, Osama Bin Laden was captured and killed and you know what?  I will celebrate.  Should I celebrate his death?  I generally would not celebrate death…most normal people do not, but tonight it is justified.  Furthermore…yes, I am not happy about policies or decisions made by President Obama in the last three years. So tonight, Progressives being Debbie Downers are discussing their continual disgust over the President and the idea that he hasn’t done enough for my undocumented friends or upset over Guantanamo Bay remaining opened, or our troops still in danger all over the world.  Pessimism aside, Osama Bin Laden is gone.  The President deserves credit for this and for once we should be excited about this accomplishment.  I will feel good about it, no guilt — just relief.

I expect the naysayers.  There will be the Republican’s and conservatives unwilling to thank President Obama for moving forward with this mission to kill Bin Laden.  Currently, I’m hearing from some that Osama isn’t that significant, that Al Qaeda is much bigger then him.  Then, there will be Progressives, overly critical of the President and how and why the military conducted the mission the way they did and it is wrong to celebrate this death.  There will be all kinds of these people desperate to find something to use against the President. But for one night, can’t we just say…”fuck yeah!” For once can’t we just say, “Way to go, Prez!”

There will be friends on Twitter or Facebook who do not understand or care to understand my stance on this, but we deserve to finally put an end to a memory of a man that disrupted our lives and took from me the feeling of comfort I felt pre-9/11. Life will not go back to what we had on 9/10/2011 and the threat of terrorism may be that much more significant, but what I do know is that America finally accomplished something we should be happy about tonight and because of this, I will celebrate.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Gerardo Rubio
    May 2, 2011 at 11:43 PM

    L-O-V-E it! It’s a great, feisty, kick to the face some people need.

  1. May 3, 2011 at 10:54 PM

Leave a Reply

