Home > Uncategorized > Waking Up To 2002, Christians Think They’re Better, and Latino’s Are Scary.

Waking Up To 2002, Christians Think They’re Better, and Latino’s Are Scary.

I hate forwards.  Seriously, I hate seeing them pop up on my email and it doesn’t matter how many times I tell the sender to stop sending, they keep sending.  What is this, 2002?

No, it’s Monday, April 11, 2011, 8:30am and I’m running late to work, as usual.  As I’m getting ready to head out the door, I get an email on my blackberry from someone at the office.  I open it and the subject reads, “Press #1.” Hmmm, is this work related? I open it up and I get this.  I should have known from the subject heading what this was.  I had seen this somewhere before, like ten years ago when I still used Telnet to check my email at school.

Normally, stuff like this does not bother me.  I mean, seriously…people who send off these type of emails tell me one thing.  They have never lived or traveled anywhere outside a 10-mile radius from Hickville, USA.  So any person of color or religion other than Christianity is rather frightening to them.  But today, after a weekend spent reading up on this and watching documentaries on anti-Muslim sentiments, post 9/11, PLUS a whole year enduring anti-immigrant rhetoric, this email pretty much set me off.

We will never cure this ill.  There will always be bigotry and racism in our country, this is a fact…but just because this issue will always exist does not mean I should not try to do something to stop it.  What bothers me the most out of all of this is how very little thought was put into a forward like this.  Honestly, do people really believe what this reflects? Could it be they just skim through and see an American flag, military soldiers, blue-eyed, blonde Jesus, coffins draped in flags, and right away they just send off hoping to put off seven years of bad luck?

There is one thing crossing my mind as I write this.  Bill Maher was right. .

Whether they like it or not, our country is changing.  Recent census numbers shows us, and by us I mean Latinos, as 50,478,000 strong!!  Yes people, this means greater voting power, more financial pull and yes…a lot of us who speak el Spanish.

You can try to stop us from coming to this country and deny us our basic human rights, but you will not win.  Today, the United States Court of Appeals in the ninth circuit upheld a decision made last year by the lower courts in Arizona to block parts of last spring’s infamous and completely racist SB1070, which eventually became law.  In the last year since Arizona, there has been a significant increase in the number of anti-immigrant legislation all across the country, with the numbers increasing every year since 2005.  But none have been upheld.

The idea that somehow 50.5 million of us are going to disappear is a crazy notion.  By attempting to deny us rights because you are afraid of who we are is also insane.  Immigrants before us have experienced rather difficult challenges as they migrate to the United States.  The difference between us and them however, is our refusal to forget where we came from and integrating our own customs, traditions and language and combining them with our new way of life here in America.  This my friends, scares a shit load of people, including those forwarding the email I received this morning.  Unfortunately, as my colleagues will later try to admit to this email as no big deal, the reality is that its their own version of this, today.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Gerardo Rubio
    April 12, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    The more I read, the more i freakin fall in love with the blog, keep goin dude. It is truly amazing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

